The Club opens for the 2012 season on Friday 13th April.
We would welcome any new members,
experienced or learners.
For more details contact Les Hazell on 029 20216990







The Bowls Section was formed in 1923 and is affiliated to the Welsh Bowling Association, the Welsh Private Greens Bowling Association (Eastern Section) and the County of South Glamorgan Bowling Association. Since its inception, the section has been located on the Arms Park site. It has produced two Welsh International Bowlers namely, Mr. C. Standfast who represented Wales in 1937 and Mr. B. Hawkins who represented Wales in 1970/71 and 1981 – 1986. He also Captained Wales in 1982 – 84 and represented his country in the World Pairs in 1982. The Section has had members elected to the Welsh Bowling Association’s Council in 1988 and 1999 and Malcolm Gilmore has served as a Welsh Selector since 2006. The Section has also produced Presidents of the Welsh Private Greens Bowling Association (Eastern Section) in 1935, 1949, 1995, and 2007. In 1999, Malcolm Brown was elected President of the Welsh Private Greens All Wales Council. Similarly, the Section has produced Presidents of the County of South Glamorgan Bowling Association in 1975, 1989 and 1999.

Allan Blackmore and Mark Osling played in the County of South Glamorgan B.A. Championship side, which won the Wales County Championship this year. Malcolm Gilmore played in the County of South Glamorgan B.A. Senior Championship side, which was also successful in winning the Wales Senior County Championship. Dave Phillips, one of our youngest members and this year’s Club Champion, played in the County of South Glamorgan Under 25’s side. Individual bowling members enter various open tournaments during the year and this has brought the Section success over the years. Most recently, Mark Osling won the Penylan Open Singles in 2006; he and Allan Blackmore also won the County of South Glamorgan Pairs Competition in the same year.


The Section is run by a Management Committee elected annually at the Section A.G.M. held each October. The Management Committee comprises Chairman, Bob Williams. Honorary Secretary Dave Lewis. Honorary Assistant & Fixtures Secretary, Allan Blackmore. Honorary Treasurer, Les Hazell. Club Captain, currently Barrie Williams and the former Club Captain, David Hayes. ‘A’ Team Captain currently Elwyn Davies and six committee members. The Section is represented on the Cardiff Athletic Club’s Management Committee by Malcolm Gilmore and Phil Parsons. Bob Williams is a non-voting Trustee and also attends C.A.C. Management Meetings.

The Section’s current membership stands at 53 of which 6 are non-bowling members. From the remaining 47 bowling members, the Section fields’ two teams each comprising of 16 bowlers every Saturday throughout the bowling season (mid April to mid September). They compete in the Welsh Private Greens Leagues (PG1 Division 3 and PG2 Division 2). On Wednesday evenings the Section fields a team in the Cardiff Mid-week League and on Tuesday afternoons in the Alliance League. Additionally, during the season there are 6 rinks matches against the Welsh Private Greens President’s Team and the County of South Glamorgan President’s Team

Matches are arranged with visiting touring sides usually comprising 6 rinks and this year we visited Bideford B.C. We also have an indoor bowling weekend in Torquay in October of each year.

During the bowling season individual members represent the Section in matches for the Welsh Bowling Association, the Welsh Private Greens Bowling Association and the County of South Glamorgan Bowling Association.


Interrelationship with Cardiff Athletic Club

Being located on the Arms Park complex since 1923, it goes without saying that the Bowling Section’s interrelationship with the Cardiff Athletic Club could not be closer. Many of our members are season ticket holders and ardent supporters of the Cardiff Blues and the Cardiff Premiership side, some for 30 years and more. Some of our members started out as Cardiff RFC players (Wilf Wooler and Les Spence for example), Cardiff Cricket players (e.g. Hayden Wilkins), Cardiff Hockey (e.g. Ivor Jones and Len Morgan) and the Tennis (e.g. Les Podd and Ernie Cross). Our support of the Cardiff Athletic Clubhouse is second to none. During the bowling season, without our presence and that of our opposing sides, the Clubhouse would often be deserted. As a Section we are proud of being part of the Cardiff Athletic Club and we respect and support our other four co-Sections. As a Bowling Section we are currently irrevocably linked to the Cardiff Athletic Club and the Arms Park. The Cardiff Athletic Club’s future is our future.